Tour de France 2021: Matej Mohoric wins stage seven as Mathieu van der Poel extends overall lead


Breaking news

Slovenia’s Matej Mohoric earned his first Tour de France victory with a fine breakaway win on stage seven.

The Bahrain Victorious team rider was part of a breakaway with 50km remaining and left his challengers to cross the line in Le Creusot one minute and 20 seconds ahead of Jasper Stuyven.

Overall leader Mathieu van der Poel finished fourth, 20secs further back.

It was enough for the yellow jersey holder to extend his lead over defending champion Tadej Pogacar.

More to follow.

Stage seven results

  1. Matej Mohoric (Slo/Bahrain Victorious) 5hrs 28mins 20secs
  2. Jasper Stuyven (Bel/Trek-Segafredo) +1min 20secs
  3. Magnus Cort (Den/EF Education Nippo) +1min 40secs
  4. Mathieu van der Poel (Ned/Alpecin-Fenix) Same time
  5. Kasper Asgreen (Den/Deceuninck-Quick-Step)
  6. Franck Bonnamour (Fra/B&B Hotels)
  7. Patrick Konrad (Aut/Bora-Hansgrohe)
  8. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma)
  9. Brent van Moer (Bel/Lotto Soudal) +1min 44secs
  10. Dorian Godon (Fra/AG2R Citroen) +2mins 45secs

General classification after stage seven

  1. Mathieu van der Poel (Ned/Alpenic-Fenix) 25hrs 39mins 17secs
  2. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma) +30secs
  3. Kasper Asgreen (Den/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +1min 49secs
  4. Matej Mohoric (Slo/Bahrain Victorious) +3mins 01sec
  5. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) +3mins 43secs
  6. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Trek-Segafredo) +4mins 12secs
  7. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +4mins 23secs
  8. Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz/Astana) +4mins 56secs
  9. Pierre Latour (Fra/Total-Energies) +5mins 03secs
  10. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Education Nippo) +5mins 04secs

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.