OLYMPICS’21 Men’s Time Trial: Roglič Roars to Olympic Gold!


Olympic Race Report: At the end of a nail-biting race, Primož Roglič took gold in the individual time trial at the Olympic Games in Tokyo. After 44.2 kilometres on a hilly course around the Fuji Speedway circuit, he was the fastest after a terrific battle. Tom Dumoulin, who returned from a temporary break from cycling especially for the Games, grabbed the silver medal behind the Slovenian. Rohan Dennis secured the bronze.

A dominating ride from Primož Roglič



The men’s TT course: The time trial starts and finishes on the Fuji Speedway race circuit. The circuit is 22.1 kilometres two laps for the men for a total of 44.2 kilometres with 846 metres of climbing. After 2.7 kilometres, the route exits the circuit and goes to the Shizuoka Road 151. Over 5.4 kilometres, the route climbs 221 metres on almost straight roads with an average gradient of 4%. The riders turn off the ‘151’ and onto a narrow, winding road. The loop is 10.3 kilometres to the top of the climb. Via the Fuji Oyama Golf Club, a two-lane road descends back to the Fuji Speedway, which is re-entered after 15.5 kilometres. Because the circuit is on a plateau, there is a climb of 2 kilometres at 4.5%. The 4,563 kilometre race track has sixteen bends and after the pit area comes the finish line after 22.1 kilometres.

6th place for Wout van Aert

arundel bike t-wrench banner

Bronze medal for Rohan Dennis

So close for Stefan Küng

A great return for Tom Dumoulin

A storming ride from Primož Roglič

Last man off – Filippo Ganna finished 5th

Gold and silver – Rogič and Dumoulin

xpedo cxr pedalbanner with Brian McCullough

TT top three – Primoz Roglič, Tom Dumoulin and Rohan Dennis

Olympic Games – Men’s Time Trial Result:
1. Primoz Roglič (Slovenia) in 55:04
2. Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands) at 1:01
3. Rohan Dennis (Australia) at 1:04
4. Stefan Kung (Switzerland)
5. Filippo Ganna (Italy) at 1:05
6. Wout van Aert (Belgium) at 1:40
7. Kasper Asgreen (Denmark) at 1:48
8. Rigobert Urán (Colombia) at 2:14
9. Remco Evenepoel (Belgium) at 2:17
10. Patrik Bevin (New Zealand) at 2:20.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what’s cool in road cycling?

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.