VUELTA’21 Stage 21: Final Stage and Overall Winner Roglič


Vuelta Stage Report: Primoz Roglič made no mistake about winning his third Vuelta a España. With a strong performance against the clock he concreted his overall win with the stage win. Magnus Cort Nielsen (EF Education-Nippo) just missed out on another stage win by 14 seconds.

*** The full ‘PEZ Stage Report’ very soon. ***

The final kilometre of stage 21

Primož Roglič has won the Vuelta for the third time in a row. The Slovenian Jumbo-Visma rider had no problems in the final time trial to Santiago de Compostella. He actually won the time trial. Magnus Cort and Thymen Arensman finished second and third.

Stage 21 Profile

xpedo cxr pedalbanner with Brian McCullough

Technical director, Fernando Escartín: “Similar route to the final stage of La Vuelta 1993, which also departed from Padrón and ended at Santiago de Compostela. The first half consists of a continuous climb and the second includes more downhill stretches. The route, winding and technical, may be a determining factor with regards to the race’s final outcome.”

vuelta21 st21 cerny
First rider off, Josef Cerny (Deceuninck – Quick-Step)

Fabio Jakobsen won the green jersey

vuelta21st21 cort
Magnus Cort Nielsen (EF Education Nippo): “It’s too early to say if it’s the time trial of my life but for sure I did a good one. The plan was to go for it. I thought if I didn’t feel good, I wouldn’t push it. In the warm up already and this morning, the legs were feeling alright. I heard I was 27 seconds in front at the first split and that really helped me to push it all the way to the line. The most combative award means a lot to me. I’m very happy to get that prize. I really love to ride aggressively and I’m proud”

KOM, Storer

Fabio Aru (Qhubeka NextHash): “It’s emotional. I love this team and it’s the best ending for me. I love this race. I want to thank everyone in La Vuelta and the fans around the world. Now I’ll stay with my family and then we’ll see”

Hero of stage 20 – Ryan Gibbons

Spanish TT champion – Ion Izaguirre 10th on the stage

vuelta21st21 roglic
Stage win and the final overall for Primoz Roglič

Vuelta a España Stage 21 Result:
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma in 44:02
2. Magnus Cort (Den) EF Education-Nippo at 0:14
3. Thymen Arensman (Ned) DSM at 0:52
4. Josef Cerny (Cze) Deceuninck – Quick-Step 0:01:16
5. Chad Haga (USA) DSM at 1:43
6. Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) INEOS Grenadiers at 1:49
7. Felix Grossschartner (Aut) Bora-hansgrohe at 1:52
8. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Jumbo-Visma
9. Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar at 2:04
10. Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech at 2:06.

Vuelta a España Overall After Stage 21:
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma in 83:55:29
2. Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar at 4:42
3. Jack Haig (Aus) Bahrain Victorious at 7:40
4. Adam Yates (GB) INEOS Grenadiers at 9:06
5. Gino Mäder (Swi) Bahrain Victorious at 11:33
6. Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) INEOS Grenadiers at 13:27
7. David de la Cruz (Spa) UAE Team Emirates at 18:33
8. Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo-Visma at 18:55
9. Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis at 20:27
10. Felix Grossschartner (Aut) BORA-hansgrohe at 22:22.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what’s cool in road cycling?

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.