Giro d’Italia 2022: Simon Yates wins Giro time trial to move up to second

Simon Yates

Britain’s Simon Yates took stage two in the Giro d’Italia after storming to a surprise victory in the time trial.

The 29-year-old completed the 9.2km course in 11 minutes 50 seconds, three seconds ahead of Mathieu van der Poel.

Team Jumbo-Visma rider Tom Dumoulin came third, finishing five seconds behind Yates, with 20-year-old Briton Ben Tulett an impressive fifth.

Van der Poel, who won the opening stage on Friday, retains the overall lead, 11 seconds clear of Yates.

“For sure this is my best time trial victory. I’m of course very happy. It’s a little bit unexpected,” said Yates after the fifth Giro d’Italia stage victory of his career.

He led the Giro for almost two weeks in 2018 before his challenge collapsed late on, and finished third in the race last year.

“We have worked hard on the time-trial bike and wanted to go as fast as possible here,” added Yates, who handled the cobbled section well when others appeared to have struggled.

“I rode the fastest I could, also on the flat. I was never confident to win until Mathieu van der Poel crossed the line. Today was just a 10-minute effort. There are still many more to come.”

This was the second of three stages in Hungary before the race moves to Sicily next week.

Stage two results:

1. Simon Yates (GB/Team BikeExchange-Jayco) 11mins 50secs

2. Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned/Alpecin-Fenix) +3secs

3. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Jumbo-Visma)+5secs

4. Matteo Sobrero (Ita/Team BikeExchange-Jayco) +13secs

5. Ben Tulett (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) same time

6. Tobias Foss (Nor/Jumbo-Visma) +17secs

7. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Bora-Hansgrohe) same time

8. Lennard Kamnai (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe)

9. Mauro Schmid (Sui/Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) +18secs

10. Thymen Arensman (Ned/Team DSM) Same time

General classification standings:

1. Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned/Alpecin-Fenix) 4hrs 47mins 11secs

2. Simon Yates (GB/Team BikeExchange-Jayco) +11secs

3. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) +16secs

4. Matteo Sobrero (Ita/Team BikeExchange-Jayco) +24secs

5. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Bora-hansgrohe) Same time

6. Ben Tulett (GB/Ineos Grenadiers)

7. Tobias Foss (Nor/Jumbo-Visma) +28secs

8. Bauke Mollema (Ned/Trek-Segafredo) Same time

9. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Bahrain-Victorious) +29secs

10. Mauro Schmid (Sui/Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) Same time

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Review: Decathlon’s $59 Women’s Van Rysel Quick-Zip Sport Cycling Bib Shorts Are Awesome
Transgender athletes: What do the scientists say?
Can Heat Training Slow You Down?
Giro d’Italia: France’s Arnaud Demare wins thrilling sprint finish to take stage five
‘Mullet’ Mitch Docker Talks Career & Podcasts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.